« Funky Friday: Barbara Bruckmueller, "Missing Your Kissing" | Main | Hannah Price's City of Brotherly Love »

14 October 2013

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

John, I really appreciate your list. I followed a bunch of new people today because of you and am blown away by all the great new work in my feed. And nothing against the white guys mentioned on that first list, several I'm honored to know personally, but a sincere thanks to you for encouraging the conversation about diversity and stoking the fire...

Here are a few more amazing photographers on Instagram:

Lisa Krantz @krantzypants
Lexey Swall @lexey
Eve Edelheit @eve_edelheit
Carolina Hidalgo @carolinahidalgo
Johnny Andrews @johnnyandrews
Rich-Joseph Facun @facun
Meredith Edlow @medlowminus
Dai Sugano @daisugano
Carolyn Van Houten @vanhoutenphoto
Carolyn Drake @drakeycake
Kitra Cahana @kitracahana
Anastasia Taylor-Lind @anastasiatl
Kiana Hayeri @kianahayeri
Ed Ou @edouphoto
Liz O. Baylen @lizbaylen
Barbara Davidson @photospice
Katie Falkenberg @katiefalkenberg
Maya Alleruzzo @mayaalleruzzo
Pam Chen @chenpamela
Jodi Cobb @jodicobbphoto
Eros Sana @eros_sana
Ariel Zambelich @azambelich
Joshua Lott @joshualott
Marcus Yam @yamphoto
Kainaz Amaria @kainazamaria
Erika Schultz @erikajschultz
Rohan Smith @ayinde21
Frederick Dupoux @fredodupoux
Octavio Jones @octaviojones
Yoshi James @yoshijames
and the Everyday Africa photogs @everydayafrica

I could go on... :)

Thanks very much, Melissa. Much appreciated.

I'll add these to the post as soon as I can.

@caseymac
instagram.com/caseymac

Thank you so much for writing this, John. As a (half white!) female photographer I really relate to your insight on this industry. I'd be lying if I said it doesn't seem hopeless at times. I really appreciate the attention you're bringing to these amazing photographers on Instagram. Well done!

-Ellie
@elliepritts

Thanks for the list really inspired after looking at just some of the profiles.
Alet - Newsphotographer in South Africa
@aletpret

Some suggestion from SA:

@musaskynxumalo
@theanna1
@lemadphoto
@alexiawebster
@sizwedingane
@madelenecronje

No Koci Hernandez? :O

Thank you very much, Alet. I'll add the links as soon as I have a moment.

Thanks for both the post and the list, John.

John, Another great female conflict photographer to add to your list is Andrea Bruce @andreabruce_noor. She's only been on instagram for about a month, but has already taken us to assignments in Afghanistan and Syria, and currently on holiday in Ireland. Highly recommended.

@hermanthepotato

I started following eight new photographers from your list - Thank you for sharing.
I love the way instagram gives us a behind the scenes look at our favorite photographers, and how it connects us across the world.
I am a fine art photographer, born in Mexico, raised in the U.S. - @malualvarezfotos - thanks for taking a look! Malú

@nataschadea is a cool female photog

While undeniably a much-needed antidote to a perspective that holds the white male gaze above all others, I can't help but note that this list doesn't fully address the concept of privilege. Aside from the educations and socioeconomic advantages shared by many of these photographers, and aside from the fact that many have already found as much critical acclaim as their white male counterparts, there is also at times an element of photographing "the other" that isn't diminished when the camera is an iphone. I am dying to see a list of artfully made instagram feeds created by artists who do not have the luxury of travel, art borne from the reality of a road that can feel more like a dead end.

I'm the author of the original post on Digital Trends and I'd like to thank you for taking the time to put together this more inclusive list. I threw together that list of photojournalists as a bit of last minute content for the weekend and I didn't research it as well as I should have. I'm kicking myself for not even giving the homogenous makeup a second thought.

This was certainly not done out of malice, but that doesn't really matter -- this is not a good list if it's all white men. As a technology journalist often upset at the gender/race/class dynamics in my field, I'm pretty appalled at myself. Even though the list is woefully unbalanced I'm happy it provoked discussion.

Kate Knibbs, who wrote the Digital Trends article, left a comment a few minutes ago. Because of some sort of glitch, it's not showing up here at the bottom of the post. Here's what she has to say:

"I'm the author of the original post on Digital Trends and I'd like to thank you for taking the time to put together this more inclusive list. I threw together that list of photojournalists as a bit of last minute content for the weekend and I didn't research it as well as I should have. I'm kicking myself for not even giving the homogenous makeup a second thought. This was certainly not done out of malice, but that doesn't really matter -- this is not a good list if it's all white men. As a technology journalist often upset at the gender/race/class dynamics in my field, I'm pretty appalled at myself. Even though the list is woefully unbalanced I'm happy it provoked discussion."

(I'll delete this if Knibbs comment shows up where it should be.)

@azurite_blue

Great list. I'd recommend Arizona based Nick Oza:

http://instagram.com/nickoza

Long form photojournalism and right now he's posting great work on immigration and Dreamers in Washington, DC.

I would highly recommend to follow @pietertenhoopen (Pieter Ten Hoopen) on Instagram

Thank you so much for your effort to create this list!

Best wishes from Nuremberg, Germany!


www.martinrehm.com

@kennykennyphotos features brilliant images by an artist who pushes the boundaries of "diversity" and "inclusiveness" even further...

@kennykennyphotos features brilliant images by an artist who pushes the boundaries of "diversity" and "inclusiveness" in ways this list hasn't yet addressed. And Kenny is one of the nicest people I've ever met.

http://instagram.com/maria_nassar a talented photographer, filmmaker I would recommend. Thanks for this effort, nice multicultural list here.

The comments to this entry are closed.

My Photo

Follow Me On Twitter

Categories

Categories